Paul Raymond Project - Terms and Conditions

Paul Raymond is best known as the songwriter, keyboardist and guitarist in UFO.  I was drawn to  UFO at a much younger age by Phil Mogg's vocals and the Mad Axeman's guitar histrionics. However Paul is on one of the best albums ever (FACT!) UFO's "Strangers in the Night"

No Mr Mogg here but more of the other fella later. Paul is joined on this album by Andy Simmons on guitar, Mark Coles on bass and Tony Steel on the drums.

Previous albums have veered in to Quireboys territory, and you can see that Paul's vocals would lend themselves to that kind of sleazy, Rod Stewart, Faces type of sound.

This album is a more straight ahead collection of rock songs, all well penned and sounding Old School British. A bit like UFO in fact, which is no bad thing. Don't go thinking that this is not a modern sounding album though as it is, the lyrics on C-List Celebrity and the title track reflect exactly what's going on right now.

There are a couple of guests, Reuben Archer from Stampede (and others) is on Love is Blind and the aforementioned Mad Axeman: Michael Schenker plays on the Reach Out (I'll be there) - a cover of the old Motown song.  Not sure about that track to be honest, might need a few more plays - it starts a bit like Doctor Doctor but I was left wishing that Mr Schenker would just grab the song by the scruff of the neck and let rip a bit more.

I've lived with the album for a few days now, giving it a couple of plays and it starts good and gets better the more you play it, with some exceptional guitar playing throughout. The perfect album to throw on in the car as you drive around on a summer's evening .. (will have to wait a bit to test that statement though)

Paul Raymond is set to play some select regional solo UK shows to promote “Terms & Conditions Apply” in the New Year, including a special headline launch show at London’s Borderline venue TONIGHT!, before resuming his duties touring with UFO.  The shows will feature Reuben Archer amongst other special guests and will showcase the new material as well as UFO classics. Regional dates are yet TBA

Album track list :

1. Born & Raised On Rock ‘N’ Roll
2. End Of Life As We Know It
3. Deeper Shade Of Blue
4. C-List Celebrity
5. We Will Be Strong
6. Terms & Conditions
7. Whiskey Mac
8. Bright Lights
9. Reach Out (I’ll Be There) (featuring. Michael Schenker)
10. Love Is Blind (featuring Reuben Archer)
11. If You Gotta Make A Fool Of Somebody

Bonus Tracks:
12. Still The Same
13. Drifting Apart
14. Partners In Crime

PRP are:
 Paul Raymond – lead vocals/lead & rhythm guitars/keyboards
Andy Simmons – lead & rhythm guitars/ keyboards
Mark Coles – bass/backing vocals
Tony Steel – drums/backing vocals
For further info please visit:

Popular Posts from last 30 Days