More Deluxe SAXON reissues, out 25 May

BMG are proud to announce deluxe reissues of Denim and Leather , Power and the Glory & Crusader after the first the first three releases (Saxon, Wheels of Steel and Strong Arm of the Law) all broke into the official UK Rock Top 40 last week. Read our review of these albums here.

Saxon’s fourth album, Denim And Leather was originally released on 5 October 1981. It was recorded at Aquarius Studios in Geneva. Arguably their most successful record to date it spawned the classic singles ‘Princess Of The Night’, ‘Never Surrender’ and the song ‘And The Band’s Played On’, which was inspired by their appearance at the inaugural Monsters Of Rock festival in 1980. This edition contains the B Sides of the ‘Never Surrender’ single and seven live tracks recorded on the Denim And Leather tour of 1981.
1. Princess Of The Night
2. Never Surrender
3. Out Of Control
4. Rough And Ready
5. Play It Loud
6. And The Bands Played On
7. Midnight Rider
8. Fire In The Sky
9. Denim And Leather
CD Bonus Tracks
10. 20,000Ft (Remix)
11. Bap Shoo Ap (Live At Donington)
12. Intro / And The Bands Played On (Live)
13. Princess Of The Night (Live At The Rainbow ’81)
14. Midnight Rider (Live At Hammersmith ’81)
15. Never Surrender (Live At Hammersmith ’81)
16. Machine Gun (Live At Hammersmith ’81)
17. Play It Loud (Live At Hammersmith ’81
Saxon’s fifth album, Power And The Glory was originally released on 21 March 1983 and was produced by Jeff Glixman at Axis Sound Studios in Atlanta. The album spawned two singles, ‘Nightmare’ and the title track, ‘Power And The Glory’ and also marked the replacement of drummer Pete Gill with Nigel Glockler, who remains a member of Saxon to this day. This version includes early working demos of songs from the album, recorded in 1982. Including tracks that didn’t make the final track listing

1. 1. Power And The Glory
2. Redline
3. Warrior
4. Nightmare
5. This Town Rocks
6. Watching The Sky
7. Midas Touch
8. The Eagle Has Landed
CD Bonus Tracks
9. Make Em Rock
10. Turn Out The Lights
11. Turn Out The Lights (Demo ’82)
12. Stand Up And Rock (Demo ’82)
13. Power And The Glory (Demo ’82)
14. Saturday Night (Demo ’82)
15. Midas Touch (Demo ’82)
16. Nightmare (Demo ’82)
17. Redline (Demo ’82)

Originally released on 16th April 1984, Saxon’s sixth album was produced by Kevin Beamish at the legendary Sound City Studios, in Los Angeles. It featured the band’s first recorded cover song, a version of the Sweet’s ‘Set Me Free’ and the singles’ Sailing To America’, ‘Just Let me Rock’ and ‘Do It All For You’. This version includes early working versions of some of the songs featured on the album and also the songs ‘Borderline’ and ‘Helter Skelter’ that didn’t make the final track listing of Crusader.

1. The Crusader Prelude
2. Crusader
3. A Little Bit Of What You Fancy
4. Sailing To America
5. Set Me Free
6. Just Let Me Rock
7. Bad Boys (Life To Rock N’Roll)
8. Do It All For You
9. Rock City
10. Run For Your Lives
CD Bonus Tracks
11. Borderline
12. Helter Skelter
13. Crusader
14. Do It All For You
15. A Little Bit Of What You Fancy
16. Sailing To America
17. Just Let Me Rock
18. Do It All For You (Intro) / Run For Your Lives
19. Living For The Weekend

The CDs are 24 page media books containing original lyrics, rare photos and memorabilia....and they will feature bonus tracks including a selection of early demos; some of which that didn't make final track listings; B sides and live recordings.
The Vinyl will be Coloured splatter and Swirl Vinyl with no bonus tracks.

Popular Posts from last 30 Days